Share |
Call us on (03) 9873 1551


At Mitcham Primary School, we strive to promote the development of active thinkers with communication and technology skills for the future. Our Learning and Teaching Programs are designed to encourage and promote a love of life long learning. Our excellent facilities support and encourage innovative teaching practice. Our school focuses on learning and values the partnership of children, staff and parents in the education process. Specialist teachers provide learning programs in the areas of The Arts, Music, Library, Physical Education, and English as a Second Language and Languages Other Than English (Indonesian). We have a firm commitment to the effective delivery of the Early Years Literacy Program (Prep to Year 4) and a literacy intervention program (MiniLit).

The Victorian Essential Learning Standards (VELS) documents form the basis of the school's comprehensive and integrated curriculum programs. Whilst a wide variety of additional resources materials and texts are used by teachers, the school's curriculum structure and focus is based on the VELS documents.
The VELS include standards at six levels which span the stages of learning:


Years Prep to Year 4

Years 5 to 8

Years 9 and 10

Laying the Foundations

Building breadth and depth

Developing pathways


 The curriculum has three interwoven purposes to equip students with capacities to:


·                       manage self and relations with others

·                       understand the world and

·                       act effectively


To achieve these purposes, the curriculum is organised into three core inter-related strands. Each strand has a number of subject domains which describe the essential knowledge, skills and behaviours students need to prepare for further education, work and life. 





Physical, Personal and Social Learning

  • Health and Physical Education
  • Personal Learning
  • Interpersonal Development
  • Civics and Citizenship

Discipline-based Learning

  • The Arts
  • English and Language (LOTE- Indonesian)
  • The Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Science

Interdisciplinary Learning

  • Communication
  • Design, Creativity and Technology
  • Information and Communications Technology (ICT)
  • Thinking


Each of the Standards is organised into levels which describe significant stages in student development. With the exception of Level 1, which covers the Prep year, each other level spans two years of schooling.

Year level










VELS level






Curriculum programs are provided through a mix of classroom and specialist teaching, and are strongly supported by a well-equipped school library, visual art and music rooms along with extensive resources and equipment.

We believe that all students can and will learn and grow by:

  • Becoming motivated, inquiring and independent learners
  • Achieving mastery of the curriculum, particularly in literacy and numeracy
  • Enhancing decision-making, problem solving and critical thinking skills
  • Learning to show tolerance, respect and consideration.

The Australian Curriculum (AusVELS) was introduced in 2012.